Bragging

 

.

 

 

“If I boast, let me boast in filthy rags made clean, and if I glory, let me glory in my savior’s suffering.” From the song Crazy, by Mercy Me.

As I walked from the soccer field to my car this evening those words kept running through my mind. Trinity had just won three soccer games; the JV won a game against an Opelika team, the rec league team won their game, and the Varsity won one away against Heritage. My own son had scored two goals in the rec league game, but it was not the goals that he was most happy about. As I walked with my arm around his shoulder I listened to him tell me about the boys on the other team cussing during the game. He was dismayed at the way one of them “went off” at the ref at the end of the game. He thought it was absurd that they argued with each other, shoved, screamed, and pushed to be the first to get a cookie after the game. As we talked about it, he said he was thankful that he had Trinity. It got me thinking back to the girls’ game last night in Birmingham. An incident, which I had debated blogging about, came to mind. During that game, one of the players from the other team took out her frustration on one of our girls and used some very bad language to express her feelings. The girl’s mom followed suit on the ref when he ejected the girl from the game.  I was so happy to see the maturity and character of our girls and the way they handled it all, as opposed to the foolishness of some of the girls on the other team.  Our girls were in the world but not of the world.

There are so many things that we have to be thankful for at Trinity. Some of them make it to the pages of this blog, but many of the little things simply do not. It is those little things that are the true blessings. Take today for example: two first graders burst into my office (during a closed-door meeting with a teacher) to tell me that they saw a deer come out of the woods and onto the soccer field during P.E. They were so excited to bring me this news. Delight danced in their eyes and they could barely get the words out. At lunchtime I glanced around the cafeteria and caught the eyes of another little child who was staring right at me with the biggest smile. I just had to go over and ask her about her day. Earlier in the day I had the opportunity to hand back an “A” assignment to a student who I knew had to work very hard to earn it. A high school student stopped by my office “just to talk.” In our faculty meeting today we truly rejoiced over the growth of a student who only two years ago we were deeply concerned about.

As I thought about all of these things I became extremely humbled. I thought about the words of Christ, “Yes, I am the vine; you are the branches. Those who remain in me, and I in them, will produce much fruit. For apart from me you can do nothing.” It is so true. The temper tantrums on the soccer field are tangible examples of what we have to thankful for at our own school. But in case we get caught up in boasting, we should remember Ephesians 2:8-9. ” For by grace we are saved by faith, and THAT not of ourselves, it is a gift from God. Not of works lest any man should boast.” The only thing we really have to brag about is that the Son of God did a miraculous work on the cross for us. Every soccer victory, every band trophy, every A, every deer that creates wonder in the mind of a child, are physical examples that point the way to Christ.

Please pray for our students, their families, and the staff at Trinity today.

Posted on October 5, 2010, in Trinity Christian School Blog Entries. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. your blog often brings tears to my eyes as it did this morning. thanks Carl

Leave a Reply

