The Commotosh Project: The Nerdiest DIY Ever

I am a DIY guy. Home repairs, building bows and arrows, building fly rods, tying flies (for fishing), reloading ammo, building boats, furniture, cars,whatever. If given the choice between buying something or making it myself, hiring someone to do something for me or doing it myself, I am most often going the self-sufficient route. What I lack in skill I make up for in confidence. Sometimes it pays off with a better product than I could have bought, and sometimes I spend twice as much money and end up wishing I had hired someone to do it for me.

Some of my projects have been kind of nerdy, but this one tops the charts. I deserve serious geek cred for this… a hackintosh built in a 1983 Commodore 64 case and 1541 floppy drive. Now if you got to this site by Googling “hacktosh”. “X86”, or “Commodore 64” I don’t need to explain what any of those terms mean. But if you are here as a regular follower you may not have any idea what I am talking about. If you are in the first camp, you may skip the next paragraph, but for those readers who need terms defined, read on.

As you may know, if you want a Windows PC you have many choices: Dell, hp, Sony, Asus, eMachines… the list goes on. But if you want a Mac, you only have one choice: Apple. Apple makes their own operating system and much of their own hardware, so you cannot simply install Apple’s operating system  (OSX) on a PC like you could Windows. That is until Apple began using Intel processors in their computers and nerdy Apple fans around the world began experimenting with ways to hack the system to mke OSX think it was being installed on a Mac. Now adventurous DIY computer builders can make their own Hackintosh computers at a fraction of the cost of buying a Mac. Of course their are many cons to doing this, but enough pros that I have decided to take the plunge.

Imagine a blazing fast computer housed in a classic Commodore case while running all the latest Apple apps in OSX Lion. Yeah, this is going to be sweet.

The first step has been completed. That is acquiring a pristine C64, complete with floppy drive, joysticks, and monitor. After firing it up, loading a few floppies, and taking a walk down 8 bit lane, the deconstruction process begins. Keep visiting back to see the case mods, hardware selection, and Hackintosh build, step by step.

First step: Disassemble the components.

A pristine, working Commodore 64 setup

Posted on March 13, 2012, in Hackintosh Project Blog Entries and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

