Commotosh Project: Part 2

The idea to build a a Hackintosh first hit me in 2008 when I saw the first build on the internet. Later the idea was revived when my friend built one in 2011. His turned out great and gave me the inspiration I needed to get started.

Anyone interested in undertaking a project like this should be prepared to do a lot of research. You cannot just put any old PC parts together and expect it to run OSX. The best place to start is at a website called called TonyMacX86.com The people on that site have blazed the trail and created all the necessary firmware hacks to do the job right. There are several proven builds listed on the site with detailed instructions that take you from start to finish. Even so. I found it necessary to spend several months reading, researching, and learning how  to make this work. In the process I developed a whole new vocabulary that included terms like KEXT. DSDT, and all sorts of things related to root directory and BIOS settings that I knew nothing about before.

Finally I feel ready to get started. I want this computer to be extremely powerful and capable of handling HD video editing through Final Cut Pro. Since my build will go in a modified 1983 Commodore 64 case, the components will also have to be small. I found the Hack Mini on the TonyMac site to be a good starting point, but I will upgrade many of the parts. My end goal is to have a mini ITX motherboard, a120 GB solid state drive to house the applications, a 2TB hard drive to house the data, 8 GB of RAM, and a 3.3 GHZ Intel Sandy Bridge Quad Core processor.

Next step: Order components and begin case mods. Stay tuned.

Posted on March 15, 2012, in Hackintosh Project Blog Entries and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. jonathantpayne

    Oh Snap! A hack in the body of a Commodore 64?! I agree, serious geek cred is due. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

