Corned Venison Yumminess

Image

After my little stroll down sentimental street a couple weeks ago I figured it was time to tell you what I did that was useful with those “notches in the stock”. After the obligatory aging period I made them into all sorts of tasty things that my family could eat and share with other venison aficionados. More on that later.

One of our favorite meals in the Warmouth household is corned beef. We don’t have it very often but it is always a top choice when a birthday rolls around and mama takes requests for the birthday meal.

Image

The roasts just before cooking.

This year I decided to try my hand at corned venison. I had never “corned” a roast before and even though it was taking a bit of chance jumping right in with venison, I decided to give it shot. For good or bad, it is not unusual for me to think, “if they can do it, surely I can too.” And yes, for the record, that attitude has gotten me into trouble, hurt, and embarrassed at times. It’s caused me to spend twice as much time and twice as much money at times than if I was, well, less confident, and more conservative, but it’s also given me plenty of great experiences too. For that matter, the trouble, pain, stitches, and embarrassment have generally been good for me too. But I digress… back to spiced deer meat.

After a fastidious trimming of a five pound hindquarter cut, I was left with two beautiful roasts that looked as if they would make a delicious meal. The first order of business was to obtain a bag of Morton’s Tender Quick, which was easy enough to do following a quick inquiry with Jimmy Wright of Wright’s Grocery. Jimmy ordered it for me and even delivered it to my office. That is service you won’t get anywhere but from a hometown grocery store.

Having received that, I mixed 5 tablespoons of it with 2 tablespoons of brown sugar, a tablespoon of coarse ground black pepper, a teaspoon of paprika, 4 crumbled bay leaves, a teaspoon of allspice, 2 teaspoons of garlic powder, and 2 tablespoons of pickling spice. I pulverized the spice mixture with a mortar and pestle, rubbed it all over the venison roasts, put the roasts a tupperware container and let it sit at 38 degrees for one week, turning it once a day. Last night I consulted with my wife on how she cooks a corned beef, then got up this morning and put the meat, a chopped up sweet onion, two chopped up potatoes, a bullion cube, a half cup of water, and a whole buch of baby carrots in the crock pot. I tied up the roasts to keep them together nicely. I don’t know if that was necessary but it gave it a pro look. I wanted to put cabbage in with it, but we didn’t have any and I didn’t have time to get some.  By dinner time tonight the smell in the house was driving everybody crazy. As I dived into the pot with tongs and a spoon I thought of  the words of Clark Griswold, “If this tastes as good as it looks, I think we are all in for a very big treat.” I just hoped that the ensuing table scene would turn out better than the Griswold’s. We kept an eye on Aggie.

The verdict? Delicious. Really. Everybody loved it. Even my wife, who is not a huge venison fan thought it was excellent. It was probably not as good as corned beef, but mainly because it was probably 99% lean, whereas corned beef has a lot of fat. My only criticism was that it had a bit of an anise taste to it and I am not too fond of that flavor. I’m not sure where that came from. Maybe the pickling spice had some in it. Nobody else could taste it but me. Corned venison was hardly any trouble to make, even though it requires a bit of delayed gratification, so I will definitely do it again.

Anybody have tips or ideas on making corned beef or venison? I’d love to hear from you and try out your ideas on the next go-around.

Image

Posted on February 4, 2013, in Hunting and Wild Game Recipe Blog Entries and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Looks incredible Carl! Any leftovers?

  2. geraldine warmmouth

    very good, did not taste any anise , you did well

  1. Pingback: Chuck’s Venison Stew « The Dominion Project

Leave a Reply

