Chuck’s Venison Stew

ImageMy friend Chuck Beams sent a variation of this recipe to me a couple months ago. We had it one night and it was so absolutely delicious that I had to make it again and share it with the world. There are so many wonderful meals that can be made with lean, delicious, healthy, all-natural venison. This is a perfect example. Whenever anyone says that venison is tough, gamey, or no good unless it is ground into burger, it is because it has not been prepared properly ahead of time and during the cooking process. With this meal the meat was as tender and tasty as you can possibly imagine.

Begin with some nice cuts of venison stew meat, tenderloin, or backstrap. Tonight I used stew meat cut from the hind quarter, shoulder, and neck. I have used backstrap before but I probably won’t again. I’d rather save those best cuts for other recipes. Trim every trace of fat and silver skin from the meat so that you have only lean red meat.

Put a 1/2 cup of water and two beef bullion cubes in a large crockpot. Add a layer of onions (I used both sweet and red this time) to the crockpot. Next, add a layer of mushrooms. I use baby portabellas. (Here in Opelika, Wrights has the best price.) Now, what would REALLY be perfect is to use Morels. Unfortunately they don’t grow in Alabama as far as I know. (Consider this a shameless appeal for anyone up north who wants to send me some.) Now add a layer of meat, followed by a layer of onion, another layer of mushrooms, and another layer of meat. Keep adding layers until you run out of ingredients. Along the way I also add a bay leaf to each layer. Now add some coarse ground pepper and maybe some rosemary, followed by a cup of white wine or white cooking wine. Finally, dump a whole family-sized can of cream of mushroom soup on top of everything. Crank the crockpot up to high and walk away for about 8 or 9 hours, then turn it down to low for an hour. What you will have for dinner that night will be a delicious hearty meal to serve over mashed potatoes or egg noodles.

Image

Try this and tell me what you think. Share your favorite wild-game stew recipe with me now and I’ll give it a try too.

Posted on February 8, 2013, in Hunting and Wild Game Recipe Blog Entries. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

